"Andrea Ceraso" Rome Award 2023

Composition Competition


Submission period

Mon Mar 27 at 04AM UTC

End of submission period

Thu Jun 15 at 10:59PM UTC

Results date

Sun Jul 30 at 04PM UTC

Entry or Course Fee

Entry fee 55 € for first score, 25 € for following
SHE LIVES — the leading European musical association for promoting the dissemination of contemporary music— is honoured to announce the third edition of the "Andrea Ceraso" Rome Award, the first Italian Composition Competition in terms of participants. This initiative is organised in collaboration with Eufonia and Imago Sonora Ensemble.

The competition celebrates, and is in memory of, the young Conductor Andrea Ceraso, who passed away unexpectedly in May 2020.

SHE LIVES is a non-for-profit organisation. Since its establishment it has had the privilege of working with internationally acclaimed artists such as Peter Eötvös, Lasse Thoresen and Sidney Corbett, as well globally renowned institutions, including the Solisti della Scala di Milano, the Teatro dell’Opera di Roma, the Accademia Chigiana di Siena, the Accademia Filarmonica Romana, the Fondazione Scelsi, the Reale Ambasciata di Norvegia, the Istituto Svizzero di Roma, the UMZE (the historic ensemble founded by Bartók), the Budapest Music Center, the LAC – Lugano Arte e Cultura, the Festival oggimusica, the Yamaha Concert Hall Wien, the Pro Helvetia, the Contemporary Art Festival Budapest, Warner Classics, and Naxos.

1. The competition is open to composers of all ages and nationalities, without restrictions of gender, ideas, religious affiliation etc.
2. The competition theme is the composition of a piece involving the following instruments (from the solo instrument to the entire ensemble):
- Piano – one player
- Clarinet in Bb, in A, in C (doubling Piccolo Clarinet in Eb) – one player
- Flute – descending to B with open holes (doubling Piccolo, Bass Flute, Alto Flute in G) – one player
- 2 violins
- 1 viola
- 1 cello
3. Prepared piano, the use of electronics, and fixed media are allowed.
4. Live electronics are not allowed.
5. The duration of the piece must not exceed 15 minutes. There are no minimum duration limits.
6. The piece may have already been performed and published.
7. There are no style limitations. The jury will evaluate the musical quality and originality of the writing.

Prize fund: 3000 euro

June 15, 2023 (23:59 Rome time)

The competition participation fee is of 55 euros for the first piece submitted. Each composer can participate in the competition with a maximum of 5 pieces (first piece + 4 others). A sum of 25 Euros will be paid for each additional piece.

Sidney Corbett, composer, professor at the University of Performing Art in Mannheim – President of the jury (Usa / Germany)
Alessio Elia, composer (Italy / Hungary)
Vincenzo De Filippo, composer and conductor (Italy)

LEGACY The proceeds from the competition will be employed for initiatives aimed at enhancing the figure of Andrea Ceraso, supporting those activities that have animated his human and artistic path, including charity activities.

Details are available at web pages: