++ for Octet

Added by
Composed by
John Franek
bassoon, cello, clarinet, flute, percussion, viola, violin
With electronics
Work premiered
July 2021
Venue of the premiere
Lviv National Philharmonic, L'viv (Ukraine)
7 minutes

A piece in two parts, I began ++ in order to highlight my personal experience of mitigating overstimulation. Following a chaotic and diversely textural opening which commands attention in multiple direction simultaneously, the work begins to create space for notable gestural independence and shared functionality between the parts. This sudden departure from the original soundscape and gradual process of grounding the ensemble is directly referential from my own experience.

"++" was selected as a finalist in the 5th Edition of the Bruno Maderna Composition Competition, sponsored by the Lviv Philharmonic Society.

Also added by this member