Eikhah - Lamentations. Symphonic poem for large orchestra

Composed by
David Ezra Okonsar
full orchestra
With electronics
72 minutes

The composition is not descriptive, however the general "tone" of the poems which constitute "Eikhah" reflect on every movement.

It is not a Symphony in the traditional meaning because it does not fit in the sonata form: two opposing and complementary themes or ideas. Rather it is a Symphonic Poem without "programme", where each movement is inspired from the poems of the book "Lamentations" (Eikhah).

The composition employs a large orchestra, with a full set of percussion instruments.

One main tone-series is used as a "leitmotiv", this series is used as is in the first and last movements and its variations are employed in others.