VI International Composition Competition Real Academia de Bellas Artes de San Carlos


Submission period

Tue May 23 at 04AM UTC

End of submission period

Fri Sep 8 at 10:59PM UTC

Results date

Wed Oct 18 at 04PM UTC
The call is open to all composers of any nationality, without age limit, who have not been awarded in any previous edition. Each composer may submit only one work. The work submitted must be original by the author, unpublished, not having been the result of a paid commission or awarded in any other contest, not having been previously performed in concert or public event, not even any of its parts (if any), neither with the current title nor with any other, nor broadcast by any means of dissemination.

The works must be written for transverse flute (the one used in the symphony orchestra, in C) and piano. Electroacoustic media shall be inadmissible. Other types of flutes may not be used in the submitted work. The duration of the compositions must be between 12 minutes minimum and 20 minutes maximum and may have one or several movements. Works that do not have the stipulated duration will be disqualified.

A single prize of 4,000 euros is established, subject to the current tax withholding. The Jury may, by unanimous decision, declare the Contest Prize void if the quality of the works submitted is not considered sufficient.

Details are available at web pages: