Andrew Ceraso Rome Award

4th edition


Submission period

Mon Mar 4 at 05AM UTC

End of submission period

Sun May 26 at 10:59PM UTC

Results date

Tue Jul 30 at 04PM UTC

Entry or Course Fee

entry fee 55 euros for the first piece submitted and 25 euros for next
SHE LIVES — the leading European musical association for promoting the dissemination of contemporary music — is honoured to announce the fourth edition of the "Andrea Ceraso" Rome Award Composition Competition, the first Italian composition competition in terms of participants. This initiative is organised in collaboration with Eufonia, a Roman association committed to music appreciation since 2006, Imago Sonora, a leading Italian ensemble devoted to contemporary music, and Recercare, cultural association that enhances the musical heritage of Rome and Lazio.
The competition celebrates, and is in memory of, the young Conductor Andrea Ceraso, who passed away unexpectedly in May 2020.


SHE LIVES is a non-for-profit organisation. Since its establishment it has had the privilege of working with internationally acclaimed artists such as Peter Eötvös, Lasse Thoresen and Sidney Corbett, as well globally renowned institutions, including the Solisti della Scala di Milano, the Teatro dell’Opera di Roma, the Accademia Chigiana di Siena, the Accademia Filarmonica Romana, the Fondazione Scelsi, the Reale Ambasciata di Norvegia, the Istituto Svizzero di Roma, the UMZE (the historic ensemble founded by Bartók), the Budapest Music Center, the LAC – Lugano Arte e Cultura, the Festival oggimusica, the Yamaha Concert Hall Wien, the Pro Helvetia, the Contemporary Art Festival Budapest, Warner Classics, and Naxos.


1. The competition is open to composers of all ages and nationalities, without restrictions of gender, ideas, religious affiliation etc.
2. The competition theme is the composition of a piece involving the following instruments (from the solo instrument to the entire ensemble):
- Piano – one player
- Clarinet in Bb, in A, in C (doubling Piccolo Clarinet in Eb) – one player
- Flute – descending to B with open holes (doubling Piccolo, Bass Flute, Alto Flute in G) – one player
- String quartet (2 violins, viola and cello)
3. Prepared piano, the use of electronics, and fixed media are allowed.
4. Live electronics are not allowed.
5. The duration of the piece must not exceed 15 minutes. There are no minimum duration limits.
6. The piece may have already been performed and published.
7. There are no style limitations. The jury will evaluate the musical quality and originality of the writing.


Prize fund: 3000 euro

First Prize (Winner): 1000 euro + performance *
- Potential bonus Excellence Prize for the winner: an additional 1000 euro and Excellence Prize will be awarded should the average score exceed 9 points out of 10.

Second Prize: 500 euro + performance
- Potential bonus Distinction Prize for second place: an additional 300 euro and Distinction Prize, will be awarded should the average score exceed 8.5 points out of 10

Third Prize: performance *
- Potential bonus Recognition Prize for third place: an additional 200 euro and Recognition Prize, will be awarded should the average score exceed 8 points out of 10.

* The winning compositions shall be performed in the 2024/2025 or 2025/2026 Eufonia Association concert season, performed by Imago Sonora Ensemble.

Details are available at web pages: