Submission period

Tue May 23 at 04AM UTC

End of submission period

Thu Aug 31 at 10AM UTC

Results date

Sat Sep 30 at 04PM UTC

Entry or Course Fee

Entry fee 80 €


open to composers from all countries born in 1980 or later
The Valentino Bucchi Foundation, in collaboration with the Accademia Filarmonica Romana, announces the 42nd edition of the International Composition Competition, the Valentino Bucchi Award. This edition is dedicated to the relation of continuity and innovation between the works of the Italian Masters of the 20th-century and the new compositions from contemporary authors. All participants must present an original composition for solo instrument either with or without electronic support, based on a connection to a significative work from an Italian composer of the 20th century, including Goffredo Petrassi, Luigi Dallapiccola, Valentino Bucchi, Bruno Maderna, Luigi Nono, Luciano Berio, Francesco Pennisi e Franco Donatoni. The purpose of the requirement on the reference to the 20 th century Italian Masters is to stress both the connections in the artistic research over time and the complexity of the relation between past and present in the compositional process. The Valentino Bucchi Award continues in the choice of cultural and artistic policy that has characterized it since its first inception, aiming at promoting young talent and individual creativity in the field of pure research, experimentation, and culturally distinguished music. This edition is dedicated to composition for solo instruments. The choice is aimed at the development and expansion of the repertoire for solo instruments within the aspects of artistic content and idiomatic writing for the individual instruments chosen by the candidates. In consideration of the growing participation of electronic music in the field of contemporary composition, largely determined by the proximity, cross fertilization and synergy between compositional research and the vast gamut of solutions offered by the electronic medium, it has been decided to offer the possibility of presenting, at the free choice of the contestant, compositions for either solo instrument alone, or for solo instrument plus electronic support.

The contest is dedicated to compositions for solo instrument, with or without electronic support. The composistions must be based on a connection to a significative work from an Italian composer of the 20th century.

The competition is open to composers from all countries born in 1980 or later. The winners of the first prize in previous editions of the Valentino Bucchi Prize are excluded from participation.

Details are available at web pages: