Spotlight on Magnus Lindberg

workshop for conductors


Submission period

Tue Sep 7, 2021 at 04AM UTC

End of submission period

Tue Apr 26 at 09:59PM UTC

Results date

Mon May 2 at 04PM UTC

Entry or Course Fee

active conductor participants: 700 €, active composers: 300 €


Age limit for active conductors and composers is 35 years
Spotlight on Magnus Lindberg

workshop for conductors and composers

20-26 June 2023, Budapest, Hungary


The application for this masterclass is reopened for young CONDUCTORS only. The professors will select up to 4 conductors as active participants. You can also apply as observers, too. Please note that the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic can always change the plans, and before travelling please check the latest regulations. The foundation allows only fully vaccinated participants to the masterclasses.

The Peter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation announces a workshop for conductors and composers in cooperation with Ars Nova Ensemble (France) within the Mentoring Program between 12-20 January 2022, in Budapest (Hungary). Selected active conductors and mentees of the Foundation’s annual program will have the possibility to work on Magnus Lindberg’s Jubilees and new pieces by mentee composers will be rehearsed and performed, too.

Magnus Lindberg is one of the internationally best known Finnish composers of today. He is predominantly a composer of instrumental music, above all orchestral music.

As this workshop is part of the foundation’s Mentoring Program there will be new chamber pieces written for the workshop by 2 mentored composers of the foundation. The workshop offers working sessions with Peter Eötvös, Magnus Lindberg, Gregory Vajda and the two mentored composers: Balázs Kecskés D. and Francisco Domínguez.

The call is open for conductors and composers of all nationalities.

Age limit for active conductors and composers is 35 years, observers (conductors and composers) are accepted without age limit.

The course is suitable for advanced students and professionals with special interest in contemporary music repertoire.

Details are available at web pages: