Call for works


Submission period

Tue Feb 22 at 05AM UTC

End of submission period

Sun Mar 20 at 11PM UTC

Results date

Tue May 31 at 04PM UTC
Hertzbreakerz, in collaboration with Ars Nova Society, is looking for music to be played within the 5th edition of the SOUND SPACES festival in Malmö, Sweden.

Two or more pieces in section B will be selected to be played on an acousmatic concert in collaboration with INTONAL Festival on the 24th of April.

One or two pieces will be selected to be played by the Ars Nova Ensemble in Fall 2022.

General Conditions:

The call is open to composers of any nationality, with no restrictions whatsoever.
Each composer may submit more than one composition for each section (A and B). See next paragraph for specifications. Donations will be used to partially defray the costs of the performances. Any duration is accepted but we strongly recommend submissions around 8-12 minutes for section A, and up to 60 minutes for section B.
By submitting, the author accepts to provide the performance materials at no further cost for the organization.

Section A (ensemble)

Regarding this section, combinations of at least two of the following options are accepted (maximum: five performers):

Flute in C (also piccolo and alto in G, one performer);
Violin (one performer);
Cello (one performer);
Piano / Synth: Roland JUNO – 106 / Clavinet (2 performers, also 4 hands);
Selection Committee Section A:

Agata Tuchołka, flutist
Madalena Rodrigues, violinist
Alessandro Perini, composer
Jonatan Sersam, composer, pianist
Francesco Del Nero, composer, pianist

Section B (Acousmatic)

The venue for this concert is the Red Room at Inter Arts Center in Malmö, Sweden ( where we will set up a small acousmonium (around 30 speakers). This concert will happen in collaboration with Intonal Festival.

In case of selection you will need to send us an uncompressed version of the file. Please note that we will only play stereo files, diffusing them live on our acousmonium.

Selection Committee Section B:

Alessandro Perini, composer
Francesco Del Nero, composer

The fee of 8€ per work is on a voluntary basis.

Details are available at web pages: