16th "Pablo Sorozabal" International String Quartet Composition Competition


Submission period

Tue Jan 5 at 5 AM UTC

End of submission period

Mon Aug 30 at 9:59 PM UTC

Results date

Fri Oct 8 at 4 PM UTC


For composers born after 1st January 1985

The Gipuzkoan Provincial Council together with the Basque-Navarrese Association of Composers “Musikagileak” is organising the 16th "Pablo Sorozabal" International String Quartet Composition Competition. The aim of the competition is to foster composition for string quartets by encouraging younger composers to write original works.

-The competition is open to composers of any nationality or origin born after 1st January 1985.
-Works must be original and written for a string quartet.
-The deadline for entering scores expires on 30th August 2021.
-There is a single prize of 3,000€ net plus diploma.
-The winning score will be premiered by Quartteto Maurice in the contemporary music series at the 81st Donostia-San Sebastián Musical Fortnight and subsequently included in the 13th “Musikagileak” Contemporary Music Circuit.