"Franz Schubert and Modern Music“

Composition competition lied


Submission period

Thu Jun 27, 2019 at 8:42 AM UTC

End of submission period

Thu Apr 30 at 10:59 PM UTC

Results date

Wed Sep 30 at 4 PM UTC
In association with the 11th International Chamber Music Competition “Franz Schubert and Modern Music” 2021, a member of the World Federation of International Music Competitions, and the Alink-Argerich Foundation, contemporary compositions for Duo for Voice and Piano (Lied) are sought. The prime aim of this competition is to encourage the creation of new works for this chamber music category.

The prizewinning work will be on the programme of the above-named competition in February 2021 as a compulsory piece and will be (premier) performed several times.

The competition invites composers from all nations and those who are stateless to take part.

Age limit: born after May 1, 1981 (38 years)
Latest date for submission: April 30, 2020
Prize: € 2.500

Jury: The jury, chaired by Joseph Breinl, consists of internationally renowned personalities. Will be announced soon.

A composition to be performed as a Duo for Voice and Piano (Lied) is to be submitted with a maximum performance duration of 3 - 4 minutes.

There is a choice of 12 poems to be set to music – of which either a poem in full length or fragments may be used. Six poems are by the Hungarian authoress Kinga Tóth, a writer-in-residence in Graz from September 2018 until August 2019. The other six poems are by Alessandra Molina from Cuba, who lived in Graz as “writer in exile” from August 2006 until August 2007.

Details are available at web pages: