O/Modernt Competition Award

Inventing the Past


Submission period

Fri Jan 27 at 05AM UTC

End of submission period

Fri Mar 31 at 10:59PM UTC

Results date

Thu Apr 20 at 04PM UTC

Entry or Course Fee

Application fee 35 €
Since time immemorial the past has been a source of inspiration for artists working in every creative field. O/Modernt (translated as ‘Un/Modern’) is the concept devised by the violinist Hugo Ticciati that celebrates this ‘looking back’, using imaginative programming to explore vital connections between old and new. O/Modernt embraces the world of contemporary music, collaborating with composers at different stages in their careers from all over the world.

In total, O/Modernt has commissioned more than 40 works over the last decade, ranging from short solo works to fully fledged cantatas and symphonic music. O/Modernt is delighted to announce its annual Composition Award (2023), staged in collaboration with Festival Internacional de Música de Marvão (Portugal), Rusk Chamber Music in Jakobstad (Finland) and Fondazione Entroterre (Italy). The winning composition will be premiered in 2023 in Sweden, and in Portugal, Italy and Finland in 2023/2024.


Inventing the Past

In a celebrated call to arms, Schumann singled out Brahms as a young composer who was capable of opening up New Paths in nineteenth-century music. Brahms rose to the challenge by doing something that we continuously strive to do at O/Modernt. He reinvented the past. Drawing on his fascination for early music, he reconfigured traditional materials, incorporating them into expressively powerful new wholes that are suffused with personal feeling and contemporary urgency.

O/Modernt invites submissions for our 2023 Composition Award that invoke the spirit of Brahms by looking backwards and forwards, to the past and to the future. The theme can be freely interpreted to reflect the composer’s own interests and concerns.

Application deadline: 23:59 CEST on 31 March 2023 (applicants to register electronically via MUVAC)

Win €4,000 and attend premiere performances of your composition in Sweden, Italy, Portugal and Finland!

Details are available at web pages: