Spotlight on Stefano Gervasoni

Workshop for conductors and composers


Submission period

Tue Nov 15 at 05AM UTC

End of submission period

Fri Dec 16 at 10:59PM UTC

Results date

Thu Dec 22 at 05PM UTC

Entry or Course Fee

Active conductor participants 800 €, active composer participants 300 €


Age limit for active conductors and composers is 35 years
12-18 February, 2023, Budapest, Hungary

The Peter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation announces a workshop for conductors and composers between 12-18 February 2023, in Budapest (Hungary). Selected active conductors and mentees of the Foundation will have the possibility to work on a piece by Stefano Gervasoni and on a new composition by mentee composer Sebastian Black will during rehearsals and a live performance, too. The program also includes a world premiere of Máté Balogh, a former mentee composer from Hungary.

Due to the ongoing pandemic cancellations changes are possible in the program. Before traveling make sure to get all the details of the latest travel regulations as these may change quite frequently. To enter our masterclass you have to be fully vaccinated with a proven record. Currently there are no mask mandates and other restrictions in place in Hungary or at the Budapest Music Center.

Stefano Gervasoni is one of the leading contemporary composers of his generation in Europe. Winner of numerous prizes, including the recent "Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation Award" (2018) and Premio della Critica Musicale "Franco Abbiati" (2010). Since 2006 Stefano Gervasoni has held a regular teaching position as professor of composition at Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse in Paris.

The call is open for conductors and composers of all nationalities.

Age limit for active conductors and composers is 35 years, observers (conductors and composers) are accepted without age limit.

The course is suitable for advanced students and professionals with special interest in contemporary music repertoire.

Selected active conductor participants: 800 €
(to be paid until 6 January 2023)
Selected active composers: 300 € (to be paid until 6 January 2023)
Observers: 100 € (to be paid until 31 January 2023)

Details are available at web pages: