Composition Competition "Rumore Bianco"


Submission period

Wed Nov 14, 2018 at 11 AM UTC

End of submission period

Sun Mar 31 at 10:59 PM UTC

Results date

Mon Apr 15 at 4 PM UTC
Composition Competition

The Furano saxophone Quartet, in collaboration with cultural association “Note a Sud”, is proud to announce a composition competition seeking submissions of new scores to be included in its repertoire with compositions belonging to any musical genre, without aesthetic or expressive restrictions, but which are the result of a profound sound research that highlights the great potential of the instrument.

Art. 1 - Conditions
The competition is open to composers of any nationalities, without age limits.
In the case of multiple submissions, a registration fee must be paid for each score according to the instructions specified in article 5: Submission of compositions.
Compositions already published or awarded in other competitions are allowed.
The length of composition must be between 5 to 10 minutes.

Art. 2 - Competition Schedule
31 March 2019: application deadline
15 April 2019: publication of the result of the competition

Art. 3 – Jury
The international jury is composed by
(in alphabetical order):

Bravi Daniele (composer - Italy)
Garnero Fernando (composer- Argentina)
Hämeenniemi Eero (composer- Finland)
Leclair Marie- Chantal (saxophonist-Canada)
Morciano Lara (composer-Italy)
Sbaffi Leonardo (saxophonist- Italy)
Weiss Marcus (saxophonist-Switzerland)

The judgment of the commission is unquestionable, moreover it reserves the right not to award the prize.

Art. 4 – Prize
The winner will receive a prize of 400 euros.
The winning composition will also be performed as part of the contemporary music festival "RUMORE BIANCO" that will take place in Foggia (Italy) between April and May 2019. The date will be communicated as soon as possible.
The results of the competition will be published on the quartet's website on April 15th, 2019:

Art. 5 – Submission of compositions
The scores must be sent, by the 31st March 2019, in PDF digital format using the following mail address:, it must be specified in the object of the mail the name of the composer and the title of the composition.

Each participant must attach:
1) the registration form, available on the website;
2) a detailed curriculum vitae;
3) the receipt of the registration fee;
4) the declaration of full and unconditional acceptance; of all the terms and conditions of the announcement;
5) A copy of a valid Identity card.
It will be possible to send the scores with the relative documentation in paper format to the address:
Associazione culturale "Note a Sud"
Via M. Tizzano n° 2 71122- Foggia

The date of the postmark will be valid.
- For works that contain unknown symbols or marks, the composer must provide explanatory notes in order that the work can be understood correctly.
- For the score selected for performance, the composer must supply separate parts (without rental) for individual instruments.

Art. 6 - Registration fee
The registration fee of € 30.00 must be pay to the following bank account headed:
Associazione Culturale Note a Sud
IBAN: IT98Y0335901600100000146406
Banca Prossima BIC: BCITITMX

Art.7 – Further Information
Any information concerning the competition can be requested by email or by telephone at:
Cell. +39329-9854445 or +393208177467

Art. 8 – Final provisions
Registration for the competition involves the unconditional approval of this regulation. The scores sent will not be returned and will remain in the "Notes a Sud" association archive.
For any dispute, the court of Foggia will be competent.