2021 Barlow Prize

New work for a Sinfonietta


Submission period

Tue Feb 2 at 5 AM UTC

End of submission period

Wed Jun 2 at 5:59 AM UTC

Results date

Tue Aug 31 at 4 PM UTC
The winning composer will receive a $12,000 commission for a major new work for Sinfonietta. The work will be performed in 2023-24 by a consortium of innovative and diverse ensembles which will include Alarm Will Sound, the London Sinfonietta, the Oakland Symphony Orchestra, and the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra (SPCO) and is expected to meet the highest artistic requirements for the medium. Additional specifications for the work will be negotiated among the Barlow Endowment, the composer, and the consortium of performers.

We encourage applicants from a variety of musical aesthetics and backgrounds to apply. There are no restrictions or preferences with regard to musical style, nationality, age, gender, race, religion, or political persuasion. The only limitations are:

1) Composers who have won the Barlow Prize in the previous five years will not be considered in the Prize competition.

2) The Barlow Endowment is only able to grant commissions to composers who are not included among the premiering performers, conductors, directors, or agents of the commissioned work.

3) Current members of the Barlow Boards, guest judges, or interns are not eligible to apply.

Details are available at web pages: